Division I teams
Southern Conference Fall
Academic All-Conference
Natalie Srinivasan ’20 competes at the inaugural Augusta
National Women’s Amateur in 2019.

While Furman is one of the smallest universities in Division I athletics, the Paladins have always performed above their weight class. The football team won the 1988 Division I-AA national championship, the first private school to do so, and the golf program has produced such great players as Betsy King ’77, Beth Daniel ’78, Brad Faxon ’83 and Dottie Pepper ’87. The men’s soccer team regularly appears in the national rankings, and former U.S. National Team Captain Clint Dempsey is among the program’s alumni. Furman has also achieved great athletics success while excelling in academics. The program has produced two Rhodes Scholars, 35 CoSIDA Academic All-Americans and 16 NCAA Post-Graduate Scholars, and the teams regularly score well above the national average in the Academic Progress Rate, which measures eligibility, graduation and retention.

• For the fourth year in a row, Furman captured the Germann Cup, awarded annually to the Southern Conference school fielding the league’s best all-around women’s sports program.

• Men’s cross-country finished 19th, while the women finished 22nd in the final USTFCCCA Cross Country national rating index. No other school had both teams ranked in the top 22.

• The women’s programs produced three SoCon Players of the Year: Haylee Harford ’19, golf; Marissa Guimbarda ’21, softball; and Katarina Kozarov ’20, tennis.

• Men’s basketball set a school record for regular-season wins (24) and total victories (25) and became the first team in the program’s 106-year history to be ranked in the Associated Press Top 25 poll.

• Golfers Haylee Harford ’19 and Natalie Srinivasan ’20 competed in the inaugural Augusta National Women’s Amateur.